PHOTO: HAMILTON CITY COUNCIL – Hamilton City Council has decided to send the three special housing areas (indicated in yellow) to central government for approval. The green circle indicates Jebson Place, which has Government approval.

A new subdivision could bring 1800 homes to northwest Hamilton, but the city will have to grow out to them.

Rotokauri was one of three fast-track housing areas – representing about 2000 homes – which Hamilton city councillors put through to the next stage last week.

All three special housing area proposals will go to central government for approval, and their developers must sign further agreements with council.